There is something about me..


Posted by Samir On September - 13 - 2014

K1600_563_MonsterMagnet_CMYK2013 erschien das MONSTER MAGNET Album Last Patrol.  Wie es der Zusatz im Albumtitel „A RE-IMAGINING“ schon erahnen lässt, handelt es sich bei „Milking The Stars: a re-imagining of Last Patrol“ (14.11.2014, Napalm Records) um eine komplette Überarbeitung, Neuinterpretation und sogar Neu-Komposition der Tracks von „Last Patrol“ mit 4 neuen Songs und zwei exklusiven Live-Versionen als Bonustracks!

„No Paradise For Me“ ist als erster Höreindruck laut Mastermind Dave Wyndorf „Interesting, fucked up and old school sounding“!

Aber überzeugt euch HIER selbst!

Wyndorf weiters über Milking The Stars: a re-imagining of Last Patrol:

“This was a happy experiment for me. It’s not a re-mix record by the current definition. It’s more like Last Patrol in a “what if?” style alternate reality.

“What if these songs were recorded in 1968?” “What would happen if I turned a pretty song into an angry one?” “How would adding creepy organs and Mellotrons affect the emotional vibe of a song?” These are just a few of the questions that roll around in my head when I write and record any album but this time I decided to actually answer them with fully fleshed out, recorded and mixed examples.

The process actually created new songs. That’s the icing on the cake for me. New sounds, new vocals, different instruments and arrangements make for a weird 1960’s vibe totally apart from Last Patrol which was fun for Phil, Bob, Garrett, mixer Joe Barresi and myself to explore.

Finally there’s expanded versions of the songs “Last Patrol” and “Three Kingfishers” as recorded live at the AB club in Belgium, 2014. Both those songs were re-arranged for “maximum rock and psych” before we hit the road last year and feature the debut performance of new MAGNET bassist, Chris Kosnik. Personally, I think they beat the original versions.

Rock on!”

Die Tracklist liest sich wie folgt:

1.            Let the Circus Burn
2.            Mindless Ones ‘68
3.            No Paradise For Me

4.            End of Time (B-3)

5.            Milking the Stars

6.            Hellelujah (Fuzz And Swamp)

7.            I Live Behind The Clouds (Roughed Up And Slightly Spaced)

8.            Goliath Returns

9.            Stay Tuned (Even Sadder)
10.          The Duke (Full On Drums ‘N Wah)
11.          Last Patrol (Live) *Bonus
12.          Three Kingfishers (Live) *Bonus

Add your comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.